Pizza Box Canvas


Hi friends ! I’ve been so overwhelmed with Mixed Media lately. All mediums of art have some need and form of color but with mixed media, two words stand out ~ Texture and Layers ! I feel like, I cannot have enough of the various elements, one can explore and experiment with ! It is just so much fun !! Frugal as I am, I decided to teach all my mixed media workshops on the back of “pizza boxes” ~ some of my students were really surprised and some impressed ! Every Friday, my husband treats the boys to pizza ~ its almost like a ritual at our house, so much so that the lady at Pizza Hut actually inquired why we were “missing in action” while we were holidaying in London !! I have been collecting these boxes and amongst other uses, (see here and here for other projects out of pizza boxes ) I have started using them as a canvas for my mixed media projects.  A layer or two of gesso and the red of the box just vanishes. In this particular project, a lot of diecuts have been used including swirls, large flowers, small flowers, Tim Holtz frame and stand diecut and the bird cage. Two flowers made with some scraps of fabric, bottle caps with pearls embedded in them and lots of glitter scattered here and there !! The quote is profound.  Quite honestly, you cant go wrong with something like this ~ and that’s what I always encourage my students. The process is important and not the product ~ if you enjoy the process ~ the product with turn out to your satisfaction.  Splashes of bright colors over colors and the use of several diecuts is virtually what this canvas is all about. With the way things are going, I am happy to report that I think I am doing my bit to recycle and help with the environmental issues around our neighborhood. Recycled material :  Pizza box, scraps of left over fabric and bottle cap.  Fotor01025101819 Fotor01025102640 DSCF6022 I often get asked which is my favorite color and strangely enough, I don’t have any favorite colors except favorite color combinations. I love the combination of teal with dark brown or as in this project, purple brushed over shades of teal and pale yellow. I feel, we have a dozens of shades for every color today and its so difficult to judge which shade of blue or pink or red can be anyone’s favorite  ! what say ?? DSCF6025 DSCF6026 DSCF6027 Fotor01025103031 Fotor01025103941 I’ve always believed that art can and should be functional ~ but if its just got to sit on your wall, it should carry a message and it shouldn’t have to be occupied by 6 tubes of paint ! But that’s just me and that’s just the way my mind works ~ you can agree or maybe not. Anyways, I am sharing this project with the following parties :-

      Sundae Scoop  The Sunday Showcase The DIY Show Off Think Pink Sundays  Addicted 2 Decorating Flamingo Toes    I Heart Nap Time  Everyday Mom Meals   Homemaker on a Dime    Raising Memories  Nifty Thrifty Things     The Sweet Details  Clever Chicks blog hop, Will cook for smiles  DIY Sunday showcase  

Tip Junkie

Today’s Creative Blog

Mandy’s Recipe Box

Inside BruCrew Life Lady Bug Blessings  Blessed with Grace  Tuesday Talent Show Tutorials and Tips Back for Seconds Tuesday Trivia

From dream to realityWordless Wednesday  Flusters Creative muster Riverton housewives round up Wednesday Whats it

sugar and spice and everything nice

Thank you for visiting me today ~ please feel free to subscribe to my blog and keep in touch with all my projects ! Till then, ciao !

329847D06DC776810690945E262E8BDA

24 thoughts on “Pizza Box Canvas

  1. That’s gorgeous… I love to reuse things, too… and I never thought of being able to use the pizza boxes for anything!!! (We grab Little Caesar’s on our way home from town after dance school nights… 4 hours of dance classes for the different aged kids and a 60 mile drive back to our little rural area mean that handing everyone a slice in the car is just so much easier… and by the time we’re home, it’s just teeth brushed and lights out!)

  2. Thank you very for appreciating my pizza box turned Canvas, dear friends. I love experimenting with various elements and “sometimes” when these experiments do work out, such lovely comments are fantastic !! Thank you for visiting me friends and leaving so much love behind.

Leave a Reply

