My Pot of Gold.


I think, every once in a while, we tend to reach a plateau in any creativity field. And ofcourse, most of the time, alittle challenge can get us motivated. This time, I was challenging  myself with several folds and features. A little if-she-can-do-it-why-not-me inspiration is really healthy and infact essential at times. This past weekend, I wanted to get out of my lazy couch and play with some magic. I tried out different techniques and different folds in card making. Sometimes, we get too hung up on the challenges scenario, that most cards get created solely for serving only one purpose. I wanted to break that mold ~ and break I have done !!! I have tried to create something I just felt like with elements and colors and features that I felt I wanted to add. I really hope you guys like it.

Some of the objectives, I had in my agenda were, to try out spotlighting, (was’nt sure, I could do it, but I am pleased with the first times results) Joy fold card, Tag card, back fold card, gate card and a couple more. Over the week, I’ll keep adding them here. Please do revisit.

I am really pleased with all of them but I want to get back to experimenting with more designs and added features. Ok, so thats that.

This scarlet card is naturally for a daughter. Ofcourse an easel card in red base with some very pastel green and white swirls and flower designs in the pattern paper. The couch and the girl have been cut out and are a digi stamp. A ribbon, bow, metal heart, couple of brads and 5 gorgeous paper flowers complete this card. Border lace punch and a heart warming sentiment, “Daughter, You’re the end of my rainbow, my pot of gold.”

I am a complete emotional fool and so I hear;  most creative people are !!! So the first time, I read this sentiment a couple of months back, I was really overwhelmed with a real maternal love for my boys. We really do tend to forget with the routine, school, soccer, house chores etc, how truly precious and valuable these little beings are. Really what matters most in life are not things but people. And at THAT, especially those we have bought into this world.

There is one mother who will have moist eyes presenting this card to her prized child and one -young- very- pleased girl receiving this card. 

I am so fortunate that I am involved in a field which is all about art and expressing feelings and bringing people closer. What say ??

Here is My Pot of Gold Card.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Okay, so now lets see if this card qualifies any challenges !

Sketch :

Get Sketchy

 

  

  • Card Cupids – buttons or ribbons – use punches or dies
  • Incy Wincy Designs
  • Lexi’s Creations (2W) – Flowers
  • Stamps R Us (2W, 2E) – For the Girls*
  • Altered Alice (M, SIO) – Dress form or Change in Form
  • I Did It Creations – Anything Goes
  • Stampin’ Sisters in Christ – Use Green
  • Crazy 4 Challenges (JFF) – Use dies
  • Little Claire’s (M) Anything Goes
  • Creative Cowgirls (2W, 2E) – Hearts
  • Twisted Sketches – Heart
  • Guylou’s Inimitability – (2W, SIO) – anything goes
  • Mami Doodles – (2W, SIO, JFF) – flower card
  • Simply Create – (2W) – bold & bright
  • Totally Papercrafts – use a digi
  • Wags ‘n Whiskers – (2W, SIO) – punches
  • Charisma Cardz – (3E) – Spring has sprung
  • Digi Doodle Shop’s Best – (SIO) – anything goes
  • Do You Stack Up? – (3E, SIO) – dots
  • Paper Crafting Journey – (2W, 1E) – anything goes
  • The Outlawz – Prisma & Other Mediums – (no Copics) – anything goes;
  • Play Date Cafe – combined challenge with CASE Study; COLOUR (see below
  • Shelly’s Images – (SIO) – show us what you got/anything goes
  • Sassy Studio Designs – (SIO) – use a punch
  • Creative Cottage – (2W) – fabulous florals / lots of flowers
  • Forgotten Scraps – (2W, 1E, SIO) – Spring or flowers
  • Paper Pretties – card for a child
  • Digital Tuesday – (include a digital element) – Use a die cut
  • My Time To Craft – (JFF) – circles
  • Scrap-Creations – Spring Fever
  • Bunny Zoe’s Crafts (2nd MON) – Spring – flowers Everywhere!
  • Desert Island Crafters – (2W) – , Border Punch, Only one pattern paper, Red,  Swirls, Sparkle
  • Catered Crop (2W) – Recipe challenge
    1. Colors – Anything Goes!
    2. Stamps – Aprons, images from the kitchen 
    3. Embellishments – ribbon
    4.  Tools – border punches or die cuts
    5. Shapes – Squares
    6.  Color Mediums- distress ink and normal color markers

    Thanks for stopping by and have a great day 🙂

    39 thoughts on “My Pot of Gold.

    1. Ah, your post brought tears to my eyes. Daughters really are the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow – and mine’s moving to Costa Rica in a few weeks! I’m going to miss her so much. Your card is a wonderful tribute to daughters, and the mothers who love them. I’m so glad you played with us at Catered Crop – even if you did make me cry. 😉

    2. Our children are so very precious and it is a good thing to pause and remember that; I just visited two of my three college aged children this past weekend and cannot believe they’re not running around the house anymore! I miss them soooo much! Thanks for coming alongside Stampin’ Sisters in Christ this week!

    3. Sweet blog post! I’m a mom myself and sometimes those crazy strong rushes of love surprise you when you least expect it! Your easel card is precious! Love the sentiment, of course, and the row of roses really make it pop! Thanks for playing along @ SSD! 🙂

    4. Always love easelcards! This one is great! Love how you placed the roses! Beautiful paper, and i love the image!
      Thanks for playing along at creative cowgirls challenge,
      Marianne

    5. WOW, this is SO CUTE. I have yet to try a easel card, they look SO hard! Eeeeek! Love the colors you used and the image is adorable! Thanks for playing along this week at the Catered Crop!

    6. Wonderful daughter card. The easel style suits it so well, as it shows off both the cute stamp and the lovely sentiment.
      Thanks for joining our ‘digi’ challenge at Totally Papercrafts this week.
      Caroline xxx

    7. Adorable image and wonderful coloring! Love the design and the beautiful trims and ribbons! Thanks for joining us at our special “Combined Grind” challenge with both The Play Date Cafe and CASE Study!

    8. Good for you!!! It’s amazing how going out of our comfort zone can make us feel. I’m always amazed and thrilled when I remember to do that-lol! Your card is amazing, thanks for playing along with SSD and DDSB!

    9. Very nice opening paragraph. It is very true to get caught up in the challenge only world. Good for you for trying something new and breaking the mold. I adore your card and I’m sure many will.
      Thanks for playing at I Did It Creations this week.
      Cindy

    10. Such a sweet and endearing sentiment to go along with this beautiful card.Good for you trying out new techniques too.Thanks for joining us at Digi Doodle Shop’s Best 😀
      Lisa x

    11. Great card Naush, the image is lovely and the sentiment is wonderful.

      Thank you for sharing your wonderful card with us at the Creative Cowgirls Challenge. 🙂 xx

    Leave a Reply

    