Heartfelt awards.


Yesterday was an exceptionally rewarding day. One of those days that rarely happens 🙂

Sometimes, we stay in the same neighbourhood, same office, travel in the same bus, train etc, studied in the same school, college, institude etc … and still did not feel that need/spark to start off a conversation or to carry it forward to friendship. Yet this www world has bought so many of us ladies, living continents apart, on the same platform, namely creativity and strangely, we are good friends with those whom we have never met and in some cases, dont even know, how they look !!!

I am known in my family and my extended family to be a very straight forward, candid and caring person. I dont mince words but I put them across firmly but politely. When I join Facebook causes or leave heartfelt comments on the issues that I have joined on facebook, I get, on an average 3-4 people wanting to be friends {~ mostly women}. Unfortunetly since I dont know many of them and feel, I may not be able to trust them and my privacy might be tampered with, I decline their request. But when I think about it, I feel, its so strange, that here are some people who are impressed and agree with what I have to say, without having met me, known my background, or know my habbits or vices and yet wish to trust me ~ becoz of that one thing that binds us together :~ OUR BELIEFS ~ OUR INTERESTS ~ OUR POINTS OF VIEW !!  Had I not kept most of my family pictures in my Facebook profile, surely I would be happy to open doors and open arms to these friends, however please excuse me for now. This has been worrying me for sometime now, so I am glad, I have said it and got it out of my system.

Having said that, yesterday was a beautiful day, becoz, a very special friend whom I know very briefly personally but who has touched all our hearts with her exceptional talent, has graced me with a special award. She is my friend, Nikki from Melonheadz. If you havent visited her blog, you have been missing something, big time !  She has been on the blog field for just 9 weeks and her page views are shooting off the ceiling ! She is compassionate and her creativity touches lives as she doodles her thoughts on paper (and software). Here is that lovely award from that lovely friend . What can I say ??? Thank you Nikki. I am humbled.

Good Morning Naush:) I'm attaching an award for you (if you'd like) to put on your blog. Thank you for being such a good friend. xox Nikki

Another reason for my delight is that I was given the honary award at Digi’s with Attitude for one of my creation.

Another pleasent surprise came from Happileigh’s scrappin challenge, where I came second and won some of her gorgeous stamps.

Happileigh Scrappin Challenge

 As if that was not enough, Dawn from Grafico forwarded this award to me !!! Talk about having one of those days when everyone is super polite to you, and everything happens perfectly for you !!! ( Almost never happens to me ~ So I was in the different world altogether ~ heck, I didnt even bother to get mad at Buddy (my oldest) when he dropped all of pepper’s nuggets in water ! (pepper ~ my tabby)

Thank you very much Dawn for this award. I am so glad you chose me and so delighted to receive it.

Alright and now here is the difficult part, where I have to tell some 7 things about myself  .. . . .. .. .. ..  This is virtually impossible, I mean, there are so many things about oneself, where does one start ?????

There are atleast a dozen odd things I’d like to change about myself .. should I start there ??? Oh no .. dont worry, I’ll keep that for my therapist !! lol.

I’ll tell you about some of the nice and “informative” things about me 🙂

1)      I grew up in Kuwait during the 7o’s and 80’s and think, it was not the nicest place to grow up in those days.

2)      I would spend hours reading or creating portraits, drawings and coloring, as a child ~ Only to be discouraged severely for drawing all the time !!

3)      I spend 3 years studying science in college but my career has been purely in the airline and hotel industry.

4)      Dubai has been home for the last 19 years, where I met my husband, married and have been raising our boys. It is only becoz of his encouragement that I reunited with my passion for crafting after marriage !

5)      I can live for years on sandwiches and coffee ! I am petrified of cockroaches. Even before I was driving cars ~ I was riding motorcycles in the busy streets and highways of Bombay !

6)      I am a perfectionist and very organized, which can be a pain for colleagues who are very unorganized and careless in his work attitude.

7)      I am sensitive and very faithful to each one of my friends so that thru out School and college, I’ve had only handful of good friends, whom I am still close to and in touch with thanks to Facebook. 

OK so I cheated, placing 3 different things in one line !! Can you guess which number is that ??  NO, NO, No prize for the right answer    🙂

So there, I have shared something about me, now the rules of this award state that  I need :

1. Thank the person who sent you this blog.
2. List 7 things about yourself (is that even possible ?)
3. Send this to 15 bloggers
 
I have a few friends and some friends whom I visit often, whom, I think, have an amazing attitude towards life and an even more fantastic ability at creating art works. Here they are :
  1.  Nikki~ melonheadzillustrating.wordpress.com
  2. Marion  ~ cardsbymarione.blogspot.com
  3. Marsha ~ stampingdownsouth.blogspot.com
  4. Linda ~ thefunkiejunkie.blogspot.com
  5. Linda ~ lindysmaidwidluv.blogspot.com
  6. Anne ~ anniebeescraftroom.blogspot.com/
  7. Michelle ~ michelle-pinkpaperparadise.blogspot.com/
  8. Amber ~ amberscraftsandstuff.com
  9. Peggysuez ~ http://rosesbymywindow.blogspot.com/
  10. Regan ~ http://charmedstamping.blogspot.com/
  11. Fallen ~ http://fallanstechnicolordreams.blogspot.com/
  12. Tricia ~ http://wattenburgerfam.blogspot.com/
  13. Kim ~http://kimboscrafts.blogspot.com/2010/02/about-girl.html
  14. Kelly ~ creativelyinked.blogspot.com
  15. Rina Damay ~ handmadebyrina.blogspot.com/

Congratulations ladies. You are all so well deserved of this award.

12 thoughts on “Heartfelt awards.

  1. Dear Naush,
    Oh I thank you for this award. I’m really honored with it!!! I love how you write so open and true on your blog. A true example in this for me! And your artwork… so creative and fantastic…. I added you to my blogroll… gotta keep my eye on you.
    Isn’t it fantastic that the internet brought us together…. worlds apart and still touching each others worlds.
    Thanks a million for doing that and sending you warm {cyber} hugs.
    Marion

  2. Thank you so much for chosing me for this award, I’m really honored that you thought of me. Thanks for the nice comments on my blog too. Hugs lin

  3. Naush 🙂 You’ve made me cry two days in a row…lol! Thank you so much for this award…. I cherish awards because of all of the thought that went into choosing me 🙂 and for the friendship that comes with them! It’s wonderful to learn more about you…. Sending you lots of “lub”, as my little nephew says… from over here! xox Nikki

  4. That is super sweet and made me smile! I enjoyed reading those interesting facts about you, I believe you are the first person I’ve read about living in or growing up in Kuwait! I will happily and proudly post the award on my blog and try to answer some questions later this week! Thank you very much!

  5. Hi, Naush! I can’t tell you how much it means to me that you chose my very humble little blog to receive this award. It touches and humbles me and your kind comments made me very happy to have you as a follower. I attempted to return the favor but I can’t figure out how to follow you so I subscribed instead. My ex-husband worked in Kuwait for a very short time many years ago but he couldn’t take the heat and came back to the US. Anyway, thanks so much for bestowing this award on me.

    Hugs,
    Anne (Anniebee)

  6. Naush,
    Thank you; I am honored that you selected me as one of the 15 bloggers for your award! That is so very sweet of you! Paper crafting is an amazing thing – it really does bring people together! I value all of the connections I’ve made with wonderful people all around the world who share my love for the hobby! Thank you again for thinking of me! It definitely brightened my day! 🙂

  7. Hi Naush…

    Sorry for replying you late. Thank you so much for giving me an award, i am flatter 🙂 and i am glad, you happy to received my Candy Bday. Can not wait for your project

    Happy Creating
    Rina Damay

  8. Hi Naush,

    I love your work and how creative you are! I work for a childrens company and we are looking for an art/crafts teacher to conduct workshops one- two hours a day over the month of July. If your interested and available please give me an email on natalie2204@hotmail.com and we can discuss. Many thanks,

    Natalie.

Leave a Reply

