Upcycle Wooden Blocks / Plaque for Family.


Hello friends !

Pinerest is my best friend !!!! Yeah ~ I know what you’re thinking ! ! But the honest truth is that I can spend a great many hours browsing from one link to another, pinning as I go along. Feeling cheerful just sharing some of the pins ~ and feeling so inspired when I read some of the talented ladies writing something like, “If I can do it, surely so can you” !!! It is just a crafters haven, I tell you. Its as though, one can virtually get lost in the hoards and hoards of pins and excieting projects !! Why would’nt it be my best friend !

Oh and BTW if your looking for my pin account, here it is :-  http://pinterest.com/doodlebuddies/  and NO ~ Pinterest did not pay me to write about them !!!

Somewhere, last August, I was so inspired by some of the gorgeous wood projects on blocks on Pinerest , that I decided to give it a try.  Armed with some deadly arsenal of power tools, I made my way back from ACE hardware and started collecting pieces of wood and MDF. It didnt take long before an entire corner in the courtyard was home to a huge pile of wood, wooden planks and left overs. (much to DH’s annoyance)

Today I am sharing with you a rather simple project of wooden blocks which are cut into small chunks using my jigsaw, sanded using the electric sander (as I call it 🙂  ), some paint layers and some modge podge over  pieces of scrapbook paper, alphabet diecuts from my revolution and the sentiment for the the definition of family is done by my loyal printer !  The ribbon finalized the look. Voila !!!

Honestly, now that the weather, is getting better, I hope to venture out  in the courtyard and try my cutting and sanding skills more. This is really a very easy project but it does take up a large amount of time, becoz there is a waiting period between each paint coat and even between the modge podge coats. The rest is pretty much simple. I have really enjoyed designing this project. It felt so lovely when I had it homed on the mantle above the TV for Eid and almost everyone who came home asked me where I “BOUGHT” it from !!!! 🙂  (huge smile here)  (DH is relieved that those heaps of wooden planks are being used)

Like so many of my creative friends have said, if I can do it, so can you.

Pinerest and this entire blog world has made me realize that there are so many creative avenues just waiting for me to make a claim at them. I never thought in my wildest dreams that I could have anything to do with wood and yet, I am trying and gladly getting there !! so can you !!!!!

Please share with me if you too have been inspired to try out something “out of the usual” ~ reaching away from your comfort zone.

I would love to share my new project with the following parties :-

Tuesday

  Thursday
I am so glad you visited me today. I hope you leave a comment so I can visit you too !
 
Warm wishes
 
Naush
29 thoughts on “Upcycle Wooden Blocks / Plaque for Family.

  1. Thanks so much Naush for joining in our recycling challenge at Unstampabelles. This is such a fun project. Loved reading how it all came about.

  2. This is too cute! Love the whole idea of this; what great decor piece. Love the papers, sizes, and sentiment you chose! Thank you for sharing this with us at TTCRD. Hope to see you again next week! :^)
    Hugs, Penny

  3. WOW this is beautiful, adore your colours 😀 I’m a pinterest addict to, I’m off to follow you 😀

    Thanx for joining us over at Crafty Bloggers Network Challenge

    luv Ger x
    CBN DT

  4. Unbelievably neat! I love what you’ve created here. Gorgeous for ANY home! Nice work, very nice!
    Thank you so much for taking the time to link up your talent and creative ideas with us at Make It Monday!
    Happy Crafting…
    Lisa xx

  5. Wow you’re brave getting out the power tools, talk about extreme crafting lol. Well worth the effort though as your finished project is really stunning. thanks for sharing it with us at FSC this time
    Claire xx

  6. This is my favourite bit of crafting, using stuff like this – a fabulous display, I love how you’ve altered these blocks, and I’m certain this looks great in your home! Thanks for joining in with our “Alter It” theme over at the Craft-Room Challenge.

    Maria xxxxx

  7. This is really fabulous. I would love to step out of my comfort zone, but to do that, I would have to stop work and then I couldn’t afford to step out of my comfort zone! Fantasic project. Congratulations on your creative journey. Thanks for including Stamp-N-Doodle along the way!
    Hugz,
    Chana, DT
    Stamp-N-Doodle

  8. This is a fabulous project and all the time and love you took to create it, is echoed in the fantastic result – a wonderful piece of home decor.

    Thank you for sharing with us at Stamp-n-Doodle this week,
    Claire

  9. this is fabulous! I love it. I’m shocked at how many challenges you entered with this. Way to go! Thanks for joining our challenge at Lollipop Crafts this week. Hope to see you again!
    Tammy DT

  10. Wow this is incredible, fantastic project and lovely inspiration! Thank you so much for joining my all crafts challenge, and please feel free to enter again, I love your work! Elaine at Craft My Life-xxx-

Leave a Reply

