Re-emerging in 2013.


Hello Friends !!! Remember me ? Yes, thats right ~Naush ~ the creative mom in Dubai, who had dropped off the face of the earth and you were wondering ~ what happens to the blogs of dead people !!!! Well I am NOT dead and I HAVE re-emerged !!!!!

My last post was somewhere in November and thats when I had just started the process of packing my ENTIRE house ~ yes, I mean ” A HUGE ENTIRE ” ~ an entire house load worth “14 TRUCKS” and finally we graced our new home amidst cartons and wrapping papers and bubble wraps. It took 5 days, 14 trucks and 9 guys working from 7am to  8pm just to pack the house and arrive at our new home.Fotor041132322final2

I must say at this point, we are absolutely pleased with our choice of the Packers and Movers that we hired. These guys were really focused and fast !!  Out of nearly 400+ cartons, only 1 plate was damaged. Ofcourse, I worked round the clock with the guys, giving them instructions and guidance as to where things had to be placed etc. For the first 5 days, we all worked tirelessly. And in the end, it paid off, ofcourse.

Fotor041131410

We had been living at the Arabian Ranches for 7 years and have loved every moment over there. Some of my best memories were made there. My boys saw there first decade in that beautiful home. We loved the comfortable, quiet and convenient lifestyle ~ good neighbours, great friends, excellent security, luxurious sourrounding, best eateries in town, a remarkable golf course, even more remarkable equestarian club ~ the pool at our feet !! What more can you ask for, isnt it ?? Well, the answer is “more space” ~ With growing age and heights and waists, we decided “change” had to come. Alhamduallah, we moved to Al warqaa on 16th December and four months later, I still find myself, organizing stuff, opening cartons (yes, there are still a dozen of them left for unpacking, but none that are of any daily purpose) and “still finding space” !!

Fotor0411201854

Fotor0411200554

I cannot believe just how demanding the first two months of the year were. Long before the scissors found their way on the cartons, I was all but completly overwhelmed with the curtain rails fixing, buying nearly 6 wardrobes and having custom made beds !! Not to mention that, I had to advertise and have Al Reem villa on rent ~ so there was a real load on my shoulder ~ rather a mountain sitting hard on me 😦  Alhamduallah Allah swt blessed me with great stamina and strength and somehow I managed to rise to the occasion. It was virtually impossible to stay focussed had it not been for my big blue book of lists. Every morning, I jotted down what everyone’s and my, task would be, and it gave me a great deal of satisfaction, ticking the “done” jobs.

Also, One of the best things that happened was that we found a great handyman ~ Mohammed. Allah works in mysterious ways. Mohammed was a great help in installing the additional curtains, fixing the new beds, and hanging the 5000 shelves, frames and “stuff” on the walls. (exaggeration ofcourse !!)

As always, the boys were absolutely amazing helpers. They tolerated mama’s eratic moods and yells and impatience with a “huge” pinch of salt. Not once did I ever hear anyone complain. Infact we had Etisalat (our local telecommunication ) installed only by the end of January, so that the boys were not distracted by tv or internet activities. Cruel mama, aint I ??

Fotor041119588

Fotor0411225938

The cats adjusted well. Keiki, my 7 year old was very distressed when we came here and decided she would just turn her back to us, sitting very sad under the basin in the guest bathroom. She sat there for nearly a day. Pepper was slightly apprehensive but less hasseled. I realized, luckily for us, he was not as attached to his territory as he was to us. Having US around is all he wanted. After a week of being in the house, we gradually introduced the cats to the outside sourrounding but made sure, they did not leave the immediate premises. One tip that I tried was spreading some of his litter tray granules all around the boundary of the bunglow. That way, I was hoping other cats would stay away and if any of these two were to cross the boundary, they would find their scent back home. It worked like a charm.

We desperately missed feeding the birds and to our surprise, becoz Mushrif park is just at a stones throw, there are swarms of birds that visit us and that too, “RIGHT INFRONT OF OUR HOUSE ” ~ I mean, what were the chances of that happening ?!!! ~ and it IS happening. Sam is absolutely overjoyed.

My kitchen is a DREAM ! But a woman can never have enough space, now can she ???  I have been really enjoying every minute of the last 4 months !! We had a fantastic winter this year ~ much of which has already bid us farewell.  I managed to get all my 92 pots of plants here and they have survived very well under my care. (I’m yet to source a reliable gardener)

The boys are overwhelmed to have master bedrooms each ! Its truly beyond a dream for them and me too.  The bunglow is sourrounded by a huge courtyard on all four sides and only once, I complete my interior works, am I, going to start with working on the four yards. So as of right now, they are a mix of interlock pavement and very very large inviting sand pits.

This is it, for now, I will however, post some pictures of my new seasonal flowers in my next post. Till then, good bye and thank you for visiting me today.

Naush

3 thoughts on “Re-emerging in 2013.

Leave a Reply

