Stores and quirky names !!


One of things that really fascinates me whenever I visit any country are the names of their stores, shops or signs. Especially the translations if its in a foreign language. Here are some of the funny/weird/unusual/cute and even inspirational names I came across in various cities of England.

One thing is for sure ~ All these stores were successful with their naming strategy ! It sure caught my attention just like many others must have also noticed these somewhat odd names.
DSCF2940

This plaque was in Central London.

DSCF3418

This is an Ice Cream and fruit drink store so whats with the bubbles ??

DSCF3906

I wonder how lazy could Daisy be, if she actually opened her own store ??

DSCF3929

DSCF4285

Oh my !!! what a lovely stone sign with an image of a cobweb but why would ANYONE keep a name after Cobwebs ???

DSCF4286

I love the name ~ I love the font used ~ I love the beautiful and colorful display and whats most important is that its a charity store !

DSCF4287

love the name “singing kettle” ~ sounds like the kettle from Beauty and the beast !

DSCF4294

This, I have no idea of ! whats the connection between car and kitchen ?? But I think, its a charity store.

DSCF4491

Ooops ~ army lost its Rrrrrrr !

DSCF4608

A REAL MAD HATTERS PARTY !!!! Can you believe that ? And just see how beautifully and creatively the notice board and the chair are decorated !

DSCF4847

Oh yeah, my husband and my dad, would agree to that ! Old Guys do rule !

DSCF4899

Isn’t that just so cute !! Melting Pot ! A little something of everything !

DSCF4945

Cottle’s cards !

DSCF5010

Too bad, the store was closed, or I would have loved to explore, Grandma’s attic !

DSCF5016

I mean, who in their rightful mind gets donkeys and pigs to compete ???? I guess they do  !

DSCF5020

This store had such a creative display of beautiful items ~ and the name suited it perfectly ~ seabreeze.

DSCF5021

DSCF5022

DSCF5024

That’s my son infront of Saxons which is a real estate company in Burnham on sea.

DSCF5065

I’m just over the moon, watching all these gorgeous plaques !

DSCF5068

And now, what drives a person to keep a hundred monkeys ?? or is that what becomes of them after they leave the bar ??

DSCF5074

Lovely earthlings ~ isn’t it /..

DSCF5075

Enlightened and PINK !!

DSCF6094

” Why LOOSE ??? ” is the question

DSCF6096

lovely display !

DSCF6099

and these two chefs are actually putting back the soul in the bread !

DSCF6115

what a cute name for a store that packs luncheons ! Lunch Box ! Simple and straightforward.

DSCF6129

No, they don’t wash tigers here ~ but they do give them a tiger bath or should I say, lick !!

DSCF6130

There is an over-use of that word for cats ~ PAM pURRED !

DSCF6429

This was the ultimately funny sign. We visited this tiny fishermens’ village on one of the main sea coast areas of Hastings and found a large sign saying “We don’t sell drugs ” !! Perhaps the residents were highly fed up of people harassing them for drugs.

2 thoughts on “Stores and quirky names !!

Leave a Reply

