Breast Cancer ribbons tutorial


Hello friends.

Two things went very wrong last month which has been the leading cause for my absence from my blog home 😦

I learnt my lesson the hard way that One has to be extra careful with any electronic gadgets/equipment in any overseas trip ~ which ofcourse, I wasn’t ! And I paid the price ~ or rather, am still paying the price for it.

Downloading tom tom on my laptop has lead it to act very weird ~ my internet connection as well as usb connectors have to be reconfigured ! Sheesh !! As if that was not bad enough, my camera, (due to a humpty dumpt fall ) has now got a tiny scratch on the lens, and the battery cage has gotten so loose that that the battery flips out easily !!  Being a slave to the keyboard of my own laptop and clarity & focal strength of my own camera, I refuse to use the boys’ laptop or camera :((   Not the most ideal situation to be in, for a creative blogger :((((((

Frustrating as it is, I have managed to turn around this situation to my favor, and made last month a truly gratifying one.  How ? I have indulged in over a dozen projects !!!!!  Super fun ~ super refreshing ~ super colorful ~ super recycling stuff !!!   Sometimes, I just have to take one step away from the keyboard and one step towards my work station to do what I LOVE the most ~ creating.

A little over 17 projects are waiting in queue to be shared here but I will start today with the most simplest of them.  Buddy’s school had a breast cancer event and he wanted to give some bows to some special teachers and friends.  If you know, Buddy, then you know that most of his “notifications” to me, generally land up at the 11th hour ~ so too with this event.

Luckily enough, I had all the basic material for this project at hand, so it was just within a matter of half an hour, that the entire presentation was ready !!

Really, its that simple.

Materials :

  • Scissors
  • Pink ribbon
  • Hot glue gun
  • tiny jewel/stud/bling
  • a pin/safety pin or any clip to attach the ribbon to the shirt. You could also use tiny magnets.
  • For packaging,
  • scraps of cardstock. (Didn’t I tell you how much I looooove to recycle !)
  • pinking sheers
  • a cd envelope/case

DSCF6144

Cut a 2 inch ribbon diagonally and simply give it a loose twist meeting midway length. Join them with a dot of hot glue using the hot glue gun.

DSCF6146

Using the hot glue gun, embellish the meeting point with jewels/bling etc

DSCF6148

Next hot glue the pins to the back of the bow, in such a way that the pin is not seen from upfront.

DSCF6151

Take a small scrap cardstock, cut the edges using a pinking sheer ~  punch two tiny holes with the cropadile, just like in the picture below.

DSCF6152

Insert the pins into the holes and voila ~ Your ready with the bows !!

DSCF6155

DSCF6157

DSCF6158

DSCF6161

DSCF6162

DSCF6164

I have used this Pink CD cover to gift wrap them.

DSCF6167

Such a simple gift but I had Buddy’s friends and teachers leave me messages of appreciation !

DSCF6169

Ofcourse, you must have noticed the picture quality is pretty poor and far from doing justice to the “REAL” color and presentation.  But for now, and till the time my dotting camera is fixed, this’ll have to do 😦

I hope you liked this simple tutorial. I am sharing this tutorial with the following parties.

The dedicated house    ~    White lights on Wednesday    ~   From the farm favorite   ~  Crafty Spices      ~    One project closer   My turn for us   ~  The weekend retreat link party  ~   Lil Luna link party palooza   ~  Practically functional party      The charm of home  ~  Seven thirty three   ~  Serenity Now  ~  Dear Creations   Your Great Idea at Or So She Says      Too Much Time on my Hands    Kitchen Fun and Crafty Friday    Super Saturday Show and Tell    Saturday Show and Tell    Finding the Pretty and Delicious   Reasons to Skip the Housework     A Little Claireification   Share It Saturday   Saturday Night Special at Funky Junk Interiors       Show and Tell Saturday at Be Different Act Normal   Tutus & Tea Parties,    Six Sisters’ Stuff,    Crafty Moms Share, , Serenity You, Shaken Together    http://tatertotsandjello.com  Friday link party at Craftionary    Showstopper Saturday link party  Creative Connection at Becoming Martha    The thriftiness Miss  One Creative Mommy It’s Overflowing

Thank you for visiting me today ~ I hope you have a fun filled weekend !

329847D06DC776810690945E262E8BDA

4 thoughts on “Breast Cancer ribbons tutorial

Leave a Reply

