DIY Cat Tree Tutorial.


Once upon a time, we lived in a lovely home at Arabian Ranches with our sons and two cats ~ the Arabian mau, we called Pepper and an elegant but snooty calico called Keiki.

DSCF2024
My handsome 7 year old Pepper. (rather fed up of the constant intrusions in the house )
DSCF2012
My beautiful princess ~ Keiki. Doesn’t she look glamorous ?

After 8 beautiful and blissful years, we moved to Al Warqa house ~ a much larger home and decided that we could earn extra blessings by fostering homeless new-born kittens with their mama in the summer, till they were old enough to be adopted.  Long story short ~ Two little ones who never got adopted last year, are still with me.  ENTER ~ Sofu and Miski.  Sofu is a super friendly but reckless boy while Miski has reservations about EVERYTHING ! While sofu prefers to sleep right on top of my face ~ Miski prefers to remain at a safe distance by my feet !  While Sofu is fearless and highly energetic  ~ Miski fears EVERYTHING !!   They both are loud ~ oh so loud !!! They are such a delight to have around ~ but then, aren’t all cats ??

Introducing ………….. Sofu and Miski  { at 4 months age }

DSCF2056

Sofu and Pepper are the two boys in the house while Keiki and Miski are the girls.

DSCF6022
Pepper and Sofu ~ each claiming his own place on the porch.
DSCF6104
Pepper and Sofu ~ have claimed many a chairs, this way.
DSCF6045
Miski, Sofu and Pepper ~ basking in the sun. They even claimed who would sit infront of the tyre and who would sit behind it.

Pepper my tabby ~ took 3 months to get used to their presence ~ Keiki still cant stand them 😦   Reserved as she is, she just keeps hiding from both of them. The new babies are a year old now, while my older ones are 8 and 7 years respectively.  . . . . . .  and you thought this post was about a Cat tree ?????  Hang on ~ Just kidding ~ IT IS about the CAT TREE  !!

I noticed the turf wars between Miski and Sofu occurring more frequently and decided perhaps giving Miscki her own little space would be a good idea, since Sofu (the boy) is super dominating and super possessive, she always got the shorter end of the stick.  After checking out some of the Cat trees prices in a couple Pet stores ~ I decided I would have to try and build a simple cat tree by myself ~ after all, necessity IS the mother of all inventions !!

So off, I jumped into my pile of planks, pallets and chunks of wood in the backyard and grabbed two large sturdy pieces of mdf.

The base has to be a larger rectangle while the other piece can be 30%  smaller. I had 2 pieces of grey-colored carpet left over from another project which came in handy. I cut out two pieces to the size of the planks.

DSCF6169
Measuring the carpet to the size of the planks.
DSCF6172
Dont try to cut the carpet using a normal scissor ~ It WILL break ! Use an x acto blade or a scissor for fabrics.
DSCF6177
This large piece of wood was chopped down to a short size. This would form the trunk of the tree.
DSCF6178
I marked the center of the rectangular wood to figure out where I would be drilling the holes.
DSCF6179
Before drilling the holes, the carpet needed to be fixed to both the base as well as the roof of the tree. Here, I have applied some white wood glue and let it settle for just a bit.
DSCF6181
After allowing the carpet to stick to the planks, I stapled the edges from all sides ~ this is necessary becoz the cats would be pulling/clawing/scratching the carpet a lot and we wouldn’t want the carpet to get pulled out easily.
DSCF6182
Here both the pieces are ready having been glued and stapled. I let them dry all night.

The next morning ~ I drilled 3 holes in the base of the tree from the side which did not have the carpet attached to it and had the ‘trunk’ attached to it. The same process was carried out for the roof of the tree, but from the side of the carpet. I did not color the trunk, becoz the cats would be using it to stretch and file their nails, anyways.

Cattree 1

DSCF6290
As if, she knew all along that this was going to be her favorite spot !! She jumped right on !

And Finally !!!!

CAT TREE DIY

Poor Sofu, is showing just how neglected he’s feeling !! Quite an actor ~ that sofu 🙂

CAT TREE DIY 2

CAT TREE

This project was fun and so creatively gratifying. I loved that my cats appreciate and fully utilize it too.  If you have cats and planks at home and are not intimidated by the drill machine, then you could easily try out this project too.

Don’t you just love such trash to treasure projects ?? I know I do !!

I am linking my cat tree to the following fantastic link parties here, as always.

Thank you for visiting me today ~ I hope you leave alittle inspired.

If you liked what you saw, kindly subscribe to my blog or any of the following media platforms to keep in touch with my current projects and ideas.

Till we meet again ..

89CD521B678A2BD781B376927E6E3B02

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

22 thoughts on “DIY Cat Tree Tutorial.

  1. What a great idea to make your own cat tree – tower. They are so expensive to buy at the store. My boys always want to buy one for our 2 cats and I tell them no. Maybe we can use your idea and make our own.

    1. Kimberlee ~ then you have to view my upcoming post too 😉 and your absolutely right, Cat tree’s are so expensive.

  2. So wonderful of you to build this for your cats. I love it that Miski jumped right up there to claim her place on top. Cats are so full of personality. Thanks for linking up to Creative Spark.
    Glenna @ My Paper Craze

    1. Thank you for visiting and commenting Glenna. Your right, Cats are so full of personality. Everything they speak is thru their eyes though. And strangely the owner always knows what their saying 🙂 Miski is so delighted with her new space and possessive too 🙂

  3. great idea! my 2 cats get into it, too. my older one loves being up higher, so this would be perfect for her.

    1. Thank you for visiting me Cape on the corner. Miski ~ the black n white kitty has already claimed her throne 🙂

  4. LOVE cats – these are precious – great project! I appreciate you sharing with Home and Garden Thursday,
    Kathy

Leave a Reply

