A Must-Have Tool For Every Parent !


A must have tool

As a mother of 3 young boys, I may not be an authority on raising kids, but I have had my fair share of turbulent experiences which have taught me some valuable lessons.

I did not have a family-support system while my boys were babies, so I relied totally on books those days. Oh how I wish the world of internet had blossomed those days !!! 😦

One of the only draw-backs of having children, closely placed in age, is the stress when flue reoccurs on a regular basis in the house. The little kindergartner carry’s it from school and passes it happily to his preschooler brother, and before we know it, the little crawling bear, is also running temperature.

A lot of chores, become a industrial function like sterilizing bottles, laundry processes or even meal time !! So sterilizing toys is out of the question ! A mop and a box of tissue, are a mom’s best friends !!

I remember one dreadful episode, where my oldest son in Kindergarten-1 returned from school, with flushed red cheeks and high temperature, the poor chap fell to the floor, feeling so feeble, while I was feeding the other two toddlers, on the high chair.  As if, in some form of conspiracy, my middle son, puked out all his meal ~ and my youngest, perhaps decided, to synchronize his regurgitation as well.  I, all but nearly exploded in tears !!

Their clothes, hands, the high chair seat, and the floor were flooded with a mini pool of semi-liquid (you know what ) and not very far, lay my little buddy, feeling so low and waiting his turn for attention.

Question is, whom do you start with first for the clean up ?? child 1,  2 or 3 ??  What would you do ? Please share your experience. Don’t worry, its not a tricky question to judge you !! Whom am I to judge ANY mother, while I carry trophy’s  of goof up’s myself. In most cases, these goof-ups enrich us with valuable lessons. So no judging here 🙂

For any of you, who have a couple of toddlers running around behind your apron, please don’t let this story alarm you , for, such episodes were far and few between !

I don’t like to generalize but I feel, as a new generation of mommies, we are, an-over-protective lot ! We panic for every small scratch on their elbows to every tiny pinch.  The only medical issues that I ever took seriously, was head injury or high temperature.  Alhamduallah, we have had only one head concussion of my oldest so far (in 15 years) !! While an elderly visiting relative carried Buddy (3 year old) on the edge of a shopping trolley cart and bumped into a speed breaker on the street in high speed ! Little Buddy fell to the ground and his little head took the entire intense impact as it hit the concrete ground. Where was I ? I was toeing the stroller for child #2.

That was a difficult night for me. We spent it at the ER of Rashid hospital after Buddy puked twice and was in a delirious state.  I realized just how fragile my son’s state was and I blamed myself for having trusted my precious son, in the care of someone clearly irresponsible despite his age.  Ofcourse, accidents can happen anywhere and everywhere, but as a parent, we tend to be more cautious of our own children’s protection, when we are with them rather than anyone else could ever be. Two days later, Buddy was fit as a fiddle and as a grateful mother, I had learnt two crucial lessons :-

  • ~ NO shopping carts / trolley rides for my boys
  • ~Never trust ANYONE with your own child until he/she realizes he is going to be held fully responsible for them.

While I was growing up, my tonsils had to be removed, and I remember, with every seasonal change, I would fall sick with high fever and throat infection. I have a very sensitive mouth and there are many things that I still cant stand, the taste or feel of, in my mouth. The mercury-in glass thermometer was one such taste, I detested !

If only we had these amazing apparatus’ that they have today.  One such apparatus is the Braun ThermoScan. This ear thermometer is fantastic.  Efficient, accurate and I don’t have to keep it steady in my boys’ mouth for a few minutes !! At the tab of a button, in a fraction of a minute, the results are delivered while your child lies oblivious of a tiny cone in his/her ear.

It has age-adjustable fever guidance for the entire family and so easy to carry on overseas trips.  In all honesty, it is so user friendly, that I never really referred to the manual inorder to operate it.

Our bodies have been designed very efficiently by Allah almighty. Fever is a sign, that the body, indicates to us, of some form of infection, taking place in the body. And although, fever can be monitored and controlled with medicines, it is important to keep a track of fever, lest it causes (and it does) any serious damage.

This apparatus has helped me tremendously in monitoring my children’s flu/fever related issues, and I would happily recommend this tool to all homes.

Oh dear !!  just in case, I sound like an advertisement, let me assure you that I have not been paid for this post !! 🙂 🙂

DSC_1536 DSC_1537 DSC_1538

(sadly, my middle son’s health has taken a beating with a terrible viral, hence the above, steep rise in temperature.

Thank you for visiting me today.

As much as, I hope you learnt something from my experiences, I hope you will share some of  yours too, with me.

You could subscribe to my blog using any of the following media or simply ‘like’ me or ‘join’ me on the various platforms below 🙂

                 

signature2

Leave a Reply

