M O T H E R Wall hanging.


I have been blessed with one of the nicest men in this world for a husband. I could write a book on him (and it would include mostly all of his qualities with a dash of his clumsiness and this and that and …… ) {You get the picture, right ? }  But dont worry, I am not going there, right now…. phew ! 

 However one of the major reasons, why we have any friction between us, is mainly becoz, when I find something thrown in a healthy state, I prefer to adopt it, thinking I may be able to refurbish it at a later stage and dress it up prettily. {NO I am not a hoarder ~ ok, maybe just a tad bit}  However,”THAT” does not happen all the time. What does, however, happen, is that, I find a suitable space for the said item in my craft studio or the jam packed shed and then …………….. forget about it. (not deliberately forget about it … well my plates full with so many more projects at hand, isnt it ??? )

 Now THATS where the problem arises. DH believes in minimilistic living, (he should’ave been born in Japan !!)  while yours truly, hates things thrown out which can serve a purpose at some later stage. Naturally finding that “some stage” is the issue.

Well, I have done him proud on this particular occasion. Couple of weeks back, my car was parked near a construction area, and as we know, constuction areas are a treasure trove for crafters, not cardmakers or scrappers but definetly, crafters. So anyways, here in Dubai, everything is in excess even wastage 🙂  So there were heaps of cardboards and insultation packs thrown around. Thank God, Sam was not around, so I could ask one of the workers permission and just packed a few large white cardboard sheets in the car. 

The guy kept looking at me as though I was an alien ~ an abaya laden women comes in a GMC truck and takes “garbage” ….. it would have made news headlines for sure in 7days newspaper.  He kept saying “karabish ~ karabish” meaning trash in Arabic. Silly guy, little did he know what I had in mind for that trash. He couldnt fathom the possibilites of finding a dozen odd uses for that sheet.  But I could. 

Why bother to explain to him, that I am doing some good for the environment ?? He couldnt care less for the environment around him.

So anyways, long story short. Turns out that thick large sheet is very light in weight but sturdy enough not to bend or break. Perfect for a altered frames or wall hanging or door signs. 

I cannot tell you just how much absolute fun I had, giving a new lease of life to a dead object. I hope you guys like it too. So for the next atleast 6 posts, your going to see the “trash to wall hanging ” series. 

This is how that white board was used after alittle sanding, polishing and distressing.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I have included a picture of the white board, just to give you an idea of what it looked like.  What a joy ! Oh and one of the photographs of the flower pot close up shot, is just : me trying out some new editing for pictures which did not turn out all that great 😦

Please do let me know, if you have ever picked something discarded shamelessly and created something functional with it.

This wall hanging is going to enter the following challenges.

linkingpartybadge copy

Thank you so much for stopping by, I hope you return again.  Have a wonderful weekend ahead.

 

46 thoughts on “M O T H E R Wall hanging.

  1. Wow, you are one creative shopper, going to the construction site to get Gypsum for crafting. Way to go girl!!! That stuff is expensive! Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and becoming a follower. Good luck in the candy draw and I’m thrilled to have you as a follower. “Hugs” Carol

  2. I too have a thing for keeping things that I have ambitions to “craft.” For some reason I can rarely find most of it ever again, I am pretty sure my DH throws it away when Im not looking. One day I will catch him and he will be in BIG trouble 🙂

    Love this, it is so creative! Thanks for joining us at Secret Crafter… Hope to see you again soon!!

    ~Kelly 🙂

  3. OMG….that takes distressing to a whole new level! What a great find, and an even better store about finding it!!! Thanks for sharing, it’s a beautiful creation. And thanks for playing along with our Sentiments challenge.

  4. Fantastic piece of art work…. Far far far from the original ‘trash’ that it was ..As they say one mans trash is another mans treasure.. A fantastic find ;O)
    Thanks for sharing with us at Creative Craft World for our bling mothers day challenge.
    Choccy xx

  5. So very pretty! I love your images on the bottom of the board…Thanks for playing along with us at Happileigh Scrappin’ challenge this week.
    Hugs,
    Georgia

  6. I love your wall hanging and what a great way for recycling what would otherwise have been thrown away

    Thanks for joining in at SFC this time

    Jackie x

  7. Very cool! And I love it more because it was repurposed! Beautiful!

    Thanks so much for joining us at SSDS this week!

  8. Beautiful project.You’ve certainly turned trash into a treasure.As a fellow collector I have the same issues with my DH!Thanks for joining us at Digi Doodle Shop’s Best 😀
    Lisa x

  9. Way to recycle! Your project turn out great! I am the same, though it’s not a trait that finds me well considering we have to move a lot for my hubbys job, o’well, I use what I can when I can and get rid of what I can’t at least I help a little bit,lol. Thanks for joining us at SG!
    xxAutumn

  10. Fabulous project!!
    Thanks so much for playin’ along with us for the Shelly’s Images “Show Us What You Got” Challenge!
    Hugs & Happy Days!
    ~Min

Leave a Reply

