Upcycle Cans to 8 Tealight designs.


Upcycling cans is such creative fun. However alittle caution while cutting the cans is necessary.

I have made 8 different designs out of the cans. Ofcourse, there are many more designs which can be created but for now, I am pleased with these designs.

Tealight holder 1
Very straight forward ~ just cut the cans and snipe the ends to leave a pointed end. I masked the end with a little tape and spray painted the rest. After it dried (which is relatively soon). I peeled the tape and here’s what it looks like.
Tealight holder 2
I’ve cut thinner stripes here. Once cut and spread on a flat surface. I folded the stripes inwards in half. Its quite simple but has a lovely effect. Then I spray painted it.
Tealight holder 3
This one is probably the easiest. I cut the stripes wider and then spread it on a flat surface. Then I masked tape at two random measurements and spray painted it. when dried, I had the tapes removed to leave me with this lovely effect.
Tealight holder 4
This probably looks abit complicated but its really quite easy. Like the rest, I cut thinner stripes and instead of folding it inward, I had them fold inward horizontally and hide behind the alternate stripe. kept continuing till all of them were folded and then spray painted it.
Tealight holder 5
This one is slightly tricky. Cut 1/3 of the can ~ all except two stripes on the sides. Attach those stripes on the top with a stapler and spray paint the can.
Tealight holder 6
Here I have just curled the stripes slightly down wards to give it a spider effect.
Tealight holder 8
Using the end of a paint brush, roll the stripes inward and voila ! Spray paint.
tealight holder 9
Around 1 cm from the bottom of the can, make straight cuts toward the top. continue to do so. Once you have cut enough stripes, just squeeze the can gently to form the lantern shape. Give a gentle pull to help get the stripes out. Spray paint.
Tealight holder 7
The tab of the drink can be used to hang it from a branch or a stand.

8 upcycled cans tealight holder designs          

I’m sharing these tealight holders with my  favorite parties here.

Do you like to recycle ? Have you made any lanterns or tealight holders lately ?

If you liked my blog, kindly follow me using any or all of the following mediums :

 

 

I’m so glad your visiting me today.  Please remember to subscribe to my blog !

89CD521B678A2BD781B376927E6E3B02

31 comments

  1. I LOVE this! Pinning, and PLEASE come link up at our Merry Monday Linky Party! We’d love you to share! Julia

Leave a comment